

# 2023 AGM Minutes 22 February 2023 – Mt Mugga Scout Group Hall 17 Astrolabe Street Red Hill

#### Documents circulated before the AGM to CRARC financial members

- 1. Notice of this meeting
- 2. Meeting agenda with Committee nominees received so far
- 4. Minutes of 2022 AGM
- 5. President's report
- 6. Treasurer's report including the independent financial review of 2022 accounts
- 7. Secretary's report
- 8. Membership Secretary's Report
- 9. Repeaters and Beacons report
- 10. WICEN Report
- 11. Education Report
- 12 WIA Broadcast Report
- 13 Notice of Special Resolution to be considered at CRARC AGM 2023
- 14. Proxy Voting Form for 2023 AGM

#### Meeting opened at 8pm

#### Chair of the meeting (Matt McNeil)

- Welcome attendees
- Ask all members to ensure they have registered their attendance with the Membership Secretary
- Could all proxy votes be handed to the Membership Secretary who will validate the financial status of the proxies. The forms once validated, will be forwarded to the Returning Officer when appointed.

#### **Financial Members present:**

Amanda Hawes VK1WX

Bruce Brown VK1BB

Carl Makin VK1KCM

David Brockbank VK2CBE

Don McCann VK2XDT

Bob Fryer VK2ERF

Fergus McCowan VK1FM

Gil Hughes VK1GH

Graeme House VK1IO

Graham Carter VK1GVC

Jeff Bollard VK1JB

Malcom Harrington VK1MAL

Matt McNeil VK1MA



Richard Roy VK1ARQ

Roderick Boswell VK1BWR
Roderick Channon VK1CBR
Russell Manning VK1JRM
Stophon Schoriv VK2NSS

Stephen Sahariv VK2NSS Steve Kennedy VK1TSK

#### **Visitors present:**

Richard Bushell Robert Henshilwood Peter Westerhof VK2NPW

Apologies received prior to commencement of meeting,

Bob Howie VK1MRH

Brendan Greenhill VK1HAX

Cheryl Bollard VK1CB

Dan Sloss VK2NAD

Deane Walkington VK1DW

Erik Lensson VK1EL

Glen English VK1XX

Graham Dalglish VK2DIG
Mike Walkington VK1OO
Murray de Plater VK1MDP

Phil Longworth VK1PL Ross Stephens VK1ARS

## Meeting Quorum: Membership Secretary

- The financial status of attending Members was determined from current records.
- A quorum of 15 or more financial members is required.
- Nineteen financial members were present.

## Review of Minutes

- Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held Feb 2022 were circulated prior to the meeting.
  - Discuss and request if any amendments are required.
  - Ask for a proposer and Seconder, that the Minutes of the previous AGM be accepted as a true and accurate record of proceedings.
  - · Proposed Carl Makin, Seconded Bruce Brown, Carried

## **Business Arising from the Minutes**

None



## Presentation of the 2022 Financial Report. (Malcom Harrington)

- Malcom presented a verbal summary of the financial report.
- The club has about \$76,000 in cash. This is potentially needed as we self-insure our repeater sites.
- An independent Review of the 2022 financial records was conducted and signed off by Murray de Plater (VK1MDP)
- A motion that the independent review of the 2022 financial report be ratified was proposed by Malcom Harrington, Seconded Steve Kennedy, Carried

## Presentation of the other 2022 Annual Reports.

The Reports present an overview of Club activities for the previous year.

- Matt McNeil spoke to the President's report.
- Amanda Hawes spoke to the Education and Broadcast Reports and added:
  - Amanda is now chair of the WIA education committee.
  - The AMC contract for conducting Amateur Radio assessments is up for renewal in approximately eighteen months
- Carl Makin spoke to the repeaters report.
- Graham spoke to the membership report. We now have 190 members.
- There was a call for any discussion or clarification required on the Reports. There was none.
- Gil Hughes proposed the 2022 Annual Reports, as circulated, be accepted, seconded Jeff Bollard, Carried

## Presentation of the Special Resolution to amend the Rules of the Club

The proposed changes to the club rules were circulated prior to the meeting. Basically, they allow:

- General Meetings to be held on-line and/ or face to face
- Members joining after 1 March 2023 have the anniversary of their being accepted as a member as their membership renewal date, rather than 30 June as is currently the case.
- Attendees of the club's Foundation Licence Course have their first year of membership free.

# Vote of members on the Special Resolution to amend the Rules of the Club

- The proposed changes to Motion that the amendments as shown in draft V2.5 of the club rules be accepted by the meeting.
- Proposed Graham Carter, Seconded Amanda Hawes
- The vote for the motion was carried unanimously.



# Appoint a Returning Officer

**Propose** a Motion that that Amanda Hawes now be invited to perform the role of Returning Officer for the election of the 2023 Committee.

- Matt McNeil Moved Carl Makin Seconded, Carried
  - Returning Officer acknowledged the work and contribution of all outgoing Committee Members.

Returning Officer declares all current committee positions vacant.

• The CRARC rules support from five and up to nine Committee members, plus an Immediate Past President if appropriate.

The following nominations had been received in writing, by the due date. In accordance with the club rules, each candidate has been proposed and seconded by club members and has provided a declaration they are not insolvent or bankrupt.

Role	Nominations received before meeting
President	Matt McNeil VK1MA
Vice President	
Vice President	
Secretary	Fergus McCowan VK1FM
Treasurer	Malcom Harrington VK1MAL
Membership Secretary	Graham Carter VK1GVC
Committee Member	Carl Makin VK1KCM
Committee Member	Steve Sahariv VK2NSS
Committee Member	Bob Fryer VK1ERF
Committee Member	Bruce Brown VK1BB

- Call for further nominations from the meeting for the remaining vacancies; see Rule 13 (2):
- Reminder about "Insolvency and Bankruptcy Declaration Form".

Carl Makin was nominated for the position of Vice President.

Graeme House, nominated for the position of the other vice president.

Steve (Crash) Kennedy nominated for the committee.



Amanda declared all nominated Committee candidates elected; see Rule 13 (3).

Role	Nominee
President	Matt McNeil VK1MA
Vice President	Carl Makin VK1KCM
Vice President	Graham House VK1IO
Secretary	Fergus McCowan VK1FM
Treasurer	Malcom Harrington VK1MAL
Membership Secretary	Graham Carter VK1GVC
Committee Member	Steve Kennedy VK1TSK
Committee Member	Steve Sahariv VK2NSS
Committee Member	Bob Fryer VK1ERF
Committee Member	Bruce Brown VK1BB

Amanda handed over proceedings to the newly elected President

## Incoming President (Matt McNeil)

• Thank all members of the previous Committee for their support, and job well done. Looking forward to a better non Covid affected year

Asked for member input regarding Shack/ Tech nights, nets etc. Such activities also require volunteers within the membership.

The WIA National Conference and AGM is to be held in ACT on 13<sup>th</sup> of May. However the club has received no correspondence from the WIA committee.

This leaves little time for the club to prepare for any required events



Activities are also venue dependent. Jeff Bollard volunteered to assist with the yet to be determined activity.

Meeting Closed at 8:59 pm

## Post Meeting Note

The club rules only allow for three ordinary committee members. A vacancy was not made by Carl Makin accepting the role of Vice President. The nomination of Steve Kennedy was subsequently declared invalid.